Church of England Refuses Call for Non-alcoholic Wine and Gluten-free Wafers

This post was originally published on this site

Addiction Recovery Bulletin

No Sugar Free – 

Feb. 8, 2025 – It’s the ancient ritual that unites millions of Christians in faith – but the Church of England is facing accusations that holy communion excludes non-drinkers or worshippers with dietary intolerances. C of E guidance determines the type of bread and wine that can be consecrated as part of the Eucharist ritual, which symbolises Jesus Christ’s sacrifice, death and resurrection and commemorates the Last Supper.

But after being asked to consider non-alcoholic and wheat-free options, church leaders have ruled these cannot be used.

Ahead of the meeting of the General Synod, taking place in London for five days from Monday, the Rev Canon Alice Kemp asked: “Can consideration be given to enable the legal use of gluten-free and alcohol-free elements at the Eucharist to remove the injustice of this exclusion?

CONTINUE@TheGuardian

The post Church of England Refuses Call for Non-alcoholic Wine and Gluten-free Wafers appeared first on Addiction/Recovery eBulletin.